Destiny

When I was 14 I fell in love with a character in a novel.   Reading gave me joy, sorrow, anger and desperation.  Some frightened the bejesus out of me and some confused me.

I read everything I could and even attempted to write myself, but rarely got further than a page or two before I ran out of words.

Then I found a character so annoying that I wanted to shout at the author. I couldn’t believe that such a badly written story could be published.  Surely I could do better.

So I wrote my own novel.  For more than a month I tapped away but when I finished, I read it and realised it if I pulled one thread, the whole thing would fall apart.  I realised that my characters had grown and evolved.  The plot I had in mind could not work because I knew they would never behave like that.

This prompted me to enter the world of higher education.  With two young children at home and two at school, I couldn’t attend a college so I applied for a short creative writing course with the Open University.  A174 Start Writing Fiction was a course that would teach me how to fix my novel and I would publish.

Instead I got bitten by the learning bug and decided to learn more about literature.

3 responses to “Destiny

  1. So, like me, you are trying to convince everyone you’re a real writer when not believing it yourself? Going to be a rough ride for us both, isn’t it?

    Glad you’ve dipped your toe into blogging, I’ll watch your journey to publication with avid interest. 😉

Have something to say? Put your feedback here.

