Extracting words

I left Mr Minty in charge on Tuesday evening after my tooth extraction.  The lounge carpet is now buried under various train sets, discarded kids clothes and a blue parrot puppet .  They had a dial-a-pizza for tea.

The hole in my gum is preferable to the abscess that was forming.  The short term pain is worth it after weeks of discomfort.

I sometimes think my writing is like an abscess. My freewrites are like drawing out poison.  I scribble the words down whether they make sense or not.  Later I examine the words, rearrange them, take some out and I have something interesting.

Writing is like any other art form, you start with an idea and you chip away at it, sanding, smoothing and finally polishing.  I get it now and can’t believe I didn’t before.

2 responses to “Extracting words

  1. What a great way to describe the process of writing – never thought of it like that. Thank you.

    Jacqueline

  2. I agree. I describe it as “like pulling teeth” when I can’t get in the zone. Which is quite often! I hope your mouth feels better soon.
    Charley

Have something to say? Put your feedback here.

