Marlowe Monday

It’s surprisingly tricky to juggle two courses with family life.  When I signed up, I failed to consider illness.  My two youngest have a temperature, sore throat and are generally grumpy.  The older two are just using it as an excuse to demand being waited on.  The worst part is that Monday is the only whole day I get to myself.

My new course continues to fascinate me.  The more I learn about Christopher Marlowe, the more I like him.   He embraced a life of crime and indulgence, often in trouble with the law – if we believe the accounts provided.  He was also an atheist, which is something I am tentatively investigating too.

On my writing course, I am in the final stages.  Only three more assignments to go which will be  a relief.  I can’t wait to leave behind the restrictions of the OU, but I am grateful for what I have learnt.  I will carry on with the degree but look forward to being able to write in my own style again.

4 thoughts on “Marlowe Monday

  1. The term “atheist” in the 17th century had a different meaning from the one it has now. Literal atheism is rare before the modern period. In Marlowe’s time, you were considered an atheist if you simply believed that god takes no part in human affairs. If was not essential to dismiss the existence of god completely.

    1. I have to admit I had no idea how huge the whole atheism thing is until I started to research it. I was just excited to discover that, even that long ago, there was doubt. Marlowe didn’t have the science to back it up, yet he still doubted the accuracy of Christianity.

      1. The earliest atheist I have come across is the classical poet, Lucretius. He is mentioned in a very good episode of ‘In Our Time’ with Melvyn Bragg on the subject of ‘Materialism’. You can download it from the BBC Radio 4 website.

Have something to say? Put your feedback here.

