To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I was planning to write  a review of this book, but I can never do it justice.

The reason I had never read it, was because I assumed it was a dull book about a courtroom trial (yawn).

It is not.  It is a story about innocence and faith in human nature.  The protagonist, Scout, has to deal with prejudice and rumour along with a hormonal brother and a weird neighbour.

It also explains the origins of the band ‘The Boo Radleys’.

Next, I am reading The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

Will it be as good as it is reputed to be?

Is it better (in my opinion) than my current dystopian favourite, Divergent by Veronica Roth?

Is dystopia the new vampire?

It’s far too late to answer this now.  I really should go to bed.

2 thoughts on “To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

  1. It’s funny how we have an irrational aversion to some books we have never read. Like you, I’ve only recently read To Kill a Mockingbird and loved the child’s point of view. I wonder what else we’re missing?

    My daughter loves The Hunger Games. Just as she won’t read the books I suggest, I’m reluctant to read hers. She says the new film is very good too.

Have something to say? Put your feedback here.

