Fall or Fly?

 

2015-04-24 08.09.36

It’s been a while since I have been here. A lot has changed.  I have changed. The challenges I have faced have never proved insurmountable.  I have kept fighting and kept writing, though in a journal rather than online.  It helped me to understand myself and gave me space to get comfortable.

What has this got to do with The Open University? It has been my safety net.  When life has been bleak, I retreated into my study books.  I immersed myself in Voltaire and Okigbo.  Even when it made no sense I read and reread, dissecting the words and separating meaning. Have I achieved what I set out to do?  Yes and no.  The original plan was to revive my grammar and literacy skills.  This is where I have succeeded.  Don’t think that it means I have failed elsewhere.  My other aim was to be able to write a novel. Wow, did I misunderstand that one.  I don’t want to be an ‘author’ anymore.  I want to be a writer.  What’s the difference?  To me, anyway, the difference is that it feels less pretentious.  I don’t want to write a best seller and become a millionaire.  I want to touch peoples lives.  I want to make a difference. I want to talk about humanity and connections.  I want to help others to find themselves and find hope.

I have a plan.  Well, sort of. Minty will keep going. My Open University journey is almost over, but here I will continue to share what I have learnt about being human. I am going to write about how I see things. Stick around.  Don’t.  It’s up to you. I feel like I am on the precipice of life.  I will either fall or fly. Do you want to see what happens?

Have something to say? Put your feedback here.

