The Diary of a PGCE Student

2017-04-18 13.01.13

It would be so easy to slip back into an admin job. It’s what I have always known, yet I really want to use the skills I have gained. I think it would be a waste not to.

With this in mind, I decided to attend a ‘School Experience Day,’ convinced it would confirm I was not teacher material. When I first arrived I was looking for reasons to dislike the idea. When the day ended, I knew it was what I wanted to do.

However, it’s one thing to want something, and another to be able to do it.

My two main concerns are: a lack of support at home (I have four children and it’s not a 9-5 job); and my mental health. Am I strong enough to deal with the pressure?

Over the course of the next few months I will be blogging about my preparation for returning to the world of full time education and employment.

Yes – this September I will be attending the University of Bristol! I have managed to get myself a place on their PGCE Programme. I am so excited and terrified all at once.

My journey continues.

download

One response to “The Diary of a PGCE Student

Have something to say? Put your feedback here.

